District 300 Has Six Candidates in Convoluted Contest

I’m pleased to have received a press release from District 300 explaining who has filed for school board and print it below.

The election will not be one based on one-man, one-vote.

Because of the state law governing the Carpentersville school district, only three people are allowed to serve on the board from each township. Undoubtedly that law was enacted in order to keep one populated township from ruling a school district, ignoring more rural neighboring areas.

Six vie for three seats on D300 Board

CARPENTERSVILLE – Six individuals turned in their paperwork by today’s 5 p.m. filing deadline (Jan. 26) to be candidates in the April 7, 2009, School Board election.

Three people will be elected to the District 300 Board on April 7, each to a 4- year seat. Those who filed petition paperwork to be candidates are (in alphabetical order):

  • Dave Alessio (listed as Dundee Township)
  • Dorota Jordan (listed as Rutland Township)
  • Robert Lee (listed as Dundee Township)
  • Anne Miller (listed as Algonquin Township)
  • Tracey Perez (listed as Dundee Township)
  • Karen Roeckner (listed as Dundee Township)

Three of these candidates from Dundee Township simultaneously filed their petition papers in the D300 Central Office, at 8 a.m. Tuesday, Jan. 20 (the first day that papers were accepted). Therefore, the District will hold a lottery at 10 a.m. Wednesday, Jan. 28, to determine ballot order for these candidates. They are: Alessio, Lee and Roeckner.

No more than two people from the same township can be elected on April 7.

The law states there cannot be more than three D300 Board members from the same township, to ensure a fair distribution of representation across the District.

The four sitting Board members whose seats are NOT up for election this April (Chris Stanton, John Ryan, Joe Stevens, and Monica Clark) each live in a different township: Rutland, Algonquin, Dundee, and Hampshire, respectively.

The three seats up for election are now held by Miller, Roeckner and Mary Warren.

Warren, a teacher in Crystal Lake, is not seeking re-election. Alessio previously served in an appointed Board seat in 2006 and 2007.

= = = = =
Dave Alessio is seen on the top right. Anne Miller is seen below Alessio. On the bottom left you can see Mary Warren talking to Karen Roeckner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *