Jack Franks – Labor Unions’ Million Dollar Man – Part 6 — 1 Comment

  1. The Bridge, Structural, & Reinforcing Ironworkers Local 1 is one of several Ironworkers locals that have contributed to Jack Franks PAC.


    The parent organization is the International Association of Bridge, Structural, Ornamental and Reinforcing Iron Workers Union.

    It’s acronym is BSOIW.

    The union is commonly referred to as the Ironworkers.


    Another Ironworkers local contributing to the Jack Franks PAC, the Architectural and Ornamental Ironworkers Local 63, was previously covered here:

    McHenry County Blog

    Jack Franks – Labor Unions’ Million Dollar Man – Part 2

    October 2, 2016


    Ironworkers Local 1 is located at 770 Industrial Drive, Forest Park, Illinois 60130.

    It is part of the AFL-CIO McHenry County Building and Construction Trades Council (McHenry County BCTC).

    The McHenry County BCTC is located at 765 Munshaw Lane, Crystal Lake, Illinois.

    The McHenry County BCTC is the link from many AFL-CIO unions, including this one, to Jack Franks.

    Tom McTavish, the Chair of Supporters of Jack D Franks PAC, is the Treasurer of the McHenry County BCTC.


    The McHenry County BCTC is one of many AFL-CIO BCTC’s throughout the country, including several in the Chicagoland area and many in Illinois.

    The BCTC’s are AFL-CIO umbrella organizations covering a group of union locals to coordinate union labor activities.


    Ironworkers Local 1 (Forest Park) and Architectural and Ornamental Ironworkers Local 63 (Broadview) are both members of CISCO.

    CISCO = Construction Industry Service Corporation.

    CISCO is a union labor / union management organization headquartered in Oak Brook that’s focused on coordination of union labor and management, promoting union labor in the Chicagoland area, and being a clearinghouse of information about the construction industry to their members.

    The management being union contractors that employ union laborers.

    Tom McTavish is a board member of CISCO.


    Another member of CISCO is IBEW Local 117, which is located at 765 Munshaw, Crystal Lake.

    Tom McTavish is the Business Manager (union organizer) and Financial Secretary of IBEW Local 117.

    IBEW = International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers.


    Tom McTavish has a two other roles.

    Both are partnerships between the National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA) and IBEW.


    5th role:

    Tom McTavish is the Secretary of the NECA IBEW Local 117 JATC (Joint Apprenticeship Training Committee).

    This is a union electrician training program at 765 Munshaw, Crystal Lake, IL.

    6th role:

    NECA Northeastern Illinois and IBEW Locals 117 / 150 / 461 LMCC (Labor Management Cooperation Committee).

    A LMCC is another entity (CISCO being the aforementioned) that’s a partnership between union labor and union contractors to promote union labor.


    There are two PACs for Ironworkers Local 1


    PAC #1

    “Bridge Struc & Reinforc Iron Workers”

    aka Bridge, Structural, & Reinforcing Iron Workers.

    Illinois State Board of Elections (SBE) committee ID 1035.

    The President of the PAC is Robert R Boskovich.

    The Treasurer of the PAC is James M Gardiner.

    Previous officers of the PAC are Steven M Bukovac (Steve Bukovac), James R Kane (James Kane), Michael E Hebda (Michael Hebda), and Frank Pauley.


    PAC #2

    Iron Workers Local Union No 1 IPEF Fund

    SBE committee ID 25736.

    The President of the PAC is James M Gardiner (James Gardiner).

    The Chairperson of the PAC is Craig Satilic.

    No previous officers.


    The Ironworkers Locals in the Chicago area have an umbrella organization called the Iron Workers District Council of Chicago and Vicinity.

    In union vernacular, a district council is a grouping of district locals.

    This District council is located in Des Plaines and has a PAC associated with it named the Ironworkes District Council of Chicago & Vicinity PAC.

    The PAC’s SBE committee ID is 17049.

    That PAC is located at 1520 Kensington Road, Suite 200, Oak Brook, IL 60523.

    Officers of the PAC are Eric Dean, Chairman; Robert Boskovich, Treasurer, and Cindy Abernathy, Secretary.

    Previous Officers of the PAC are Daniel Aussem, Howard R Norberg (Howard Norberg).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *