Defenders Announce Award Winners

From the Environmental Defenders of McHenry County:

Environmental Defenders of McHenry County Honors Award Winners at 49th Annual Membership Meeting and Dinner 

Woodstock, IL – March 11, 2019 – Members and guests of The Environmental Defenders of McHenry County gathered on March 10, 2019 for The Defenders’ Annual Dinner and Membership Meeting celebrating 49 years of preserving and protecting the environment in McHenry County and highlighting the achievements of 2018.  

The sit-down dinner and silent auction were held at McHenry Country Club along the Fox River from 4 PM to 7 PM.  

Cynthia Kanner, Executive Director of the Environmental Defenders of McHenry County and Lori McConville, President, presided over the meeting.

The evening included social time & silent auction, the latter organized by Defenders’ Fundraising Committee Chair, Anne Basten, and several wonderful volunteers; membership meeting, including welcoming new board member, Beverly Dow; awards’ presentations; 2018 accomplishments & highlights by committee chairs; and music by The Dundee Crown High School Jazz Combo.

The recipients of the 2018 awards were:

Pam Althoff

THETA AWARD – Senator Pamela Althoff — for all of her years of working tirelessly on bills to protect the environment and her 100% pro-environment voting record in 2017 as an Illinois State Senator. Award presented by Nancy Schietzelt, Second Vice-President, Environmental Defenders of McHenry County.

GOVERNMET or BUSINESS AWARD – Duke’s Alehouse & Kitchen — for their dedication to being green in many ways: 3-star green restaurant, co-host of Green Drinks McHenry County, plastic straw and Styrofoam free establishment, and their focus on conservation and community. Chef Zak Dolezal accepted award. Award presented by Lori McConville, President, Environmental Defenders of McHenry County.

VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR AWARD – Scott Kuykendall — for his dedication to protecting the environment through all of his volunteer work on our water and natural resources protection and community solar committees. Award presented by Cindy Skrukrud, Chair, Water & Natural Resources Protection Committee, Environmental Defenders of McHenry County.

YOUNG DEFENDER AWARD – JACOB KARKOWSKI — for his dedication to the environment through restoration work, spirit of volunteerism, and his participation in The Defenders’ Water and Natural Resources Protection Committee. Presented to his parents: Mary-Kate Karkowski and Stanley Karkowski in his place.  Award presented by Tom von Geldern, Restoration Workday leader at Wingate Prairie and Defenders’ member.

Founded in 1970, The Environmental Defenders of McHenry County is a non-profit, membership organization with the following mission: “In order to protect all living things, the Environmental Defenders is dedicated to the preservation and improvement of the natural environment in McHenry County.  As a citizen organization, we are committed to building sound ecological relationships between people and the natural world that supports all life.”


Defenders Announce Award Winners — 4 Comments

  1. Should bury Althoff’s resume in a time capsule, to help future generations understand the bankruptcy and collapse of Illinois.

  2. I will now sever my relationship of volunteering for these idiots.

    Yes, I did volunteer to clean Boone Creek with them.

    Never Again!

  3. Theta was also the symbol of Lesbians in the 60s, before the LGTBQ craze.

    Althoff is a poisonous viper.

    They still keep anti-venom antidotes against her particular pathogen over at Centegra.

    Watch out when you come near her.

    And don’t think if you avoid her bite you’ll be OK.

    She can spit her venom too!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *