IL-14: Lauren Underwood Nominated to Serve on Appropriations Committee with New Chairwoman Rosa DeLauro

Speaker Nancy Pelosi
Lauren Underwood

From House Speaker Nancy Pelosi statement:

Pelosi Announces Exclusive Committee Assignments for 117th Congress

Washington, D.C. – Speaker Nancy Pelosi announced today that the House Democratic Steering Committee has nominated appointments to the House Appropriations Committee, Energy and Commerce Committee, Financial Services Committee and Ways and Means Committee.  The nominations will now go to the full Democratic Caucus for approval. 

“It is an honor to announce the nomination of these outstanding Members to our exclusive committees for the 117th Congress.

“Their proven expertise, leadership and commitment to hard-working families have earned them the respect and support of our Caucus and will make them a vital force For The People by advancing economic security, promoting justice and opportunity and protecting the health and well-being of our communities.

“House Democrats are united in our mission to Build Back Better, and with these strong voices at the table, we will deliver on that sacred promise to make a real difference for all Americans.” 

Speaker Nancy Pelosi, 12/17/20


The Steering Committee approved the following new Committee members:


  • Congressman Adriano Espaillat of New York
  • Congressman Josh Harder of California
  • Congresswoman Susie Lee of Nevada
  • Congressman David Trone of Maryland
  • Congresswoman Lauren Underwood of Illinois
  • Congresswoman Jennifer Wexton of Virginia

Energy and Commerce

  • Congresswoman Angie Craig of Minnesota
  • Congresswoman Lizzie Fletcher of Texas
  • Congresswoman Kathleen Rice of New York 
  • Congresswoman Kim Schrier of Washington
  • Congresswoman Lori Trahan of Massachusetts

Financial Services

  • Congressman-elect Ritchie Torres of New York

Ways and Means

  • Delegate Stacey Plaskett of the Virgin Islands


Rosa DeLauro

Congresswoman Lauren Underwood’s assignment is coupled with the election of the new Appropriations Committee Chairwoman Rosa DeLauro (D, CT-03), who won election to succeed retiring Congresswoman Nita Lowey.

DeLauro had previously served as Labor Subcommittee chair of the Appropriations Committee.

There are 12 subcommittees of the House Appropriations Committee and at this time, Underwood’s subcommittee assignments have not been made.


IL-14: Lauren Underwood Nominated to Serve on Appropriations Committee with New Chairwoman Rosa DeLauro — 3 Comments

  1. Underwood has expertise?


    In what?

    Black lesbian history?

  2. Ms. buckwheat oh how wonderful… more for her to input Zero… another cheater winner…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *