Incumbents Win Reelection to Elgin Community College Trustees

Dr. Donna Redmer
Jeff Meyer

Board chair, secretary with ties to Republican Party win reelection overcoming open Democrat opposition

Elgin Community College (ECC) Board of Trustees Chair Dr. Donna Redmer (Dundee) and Secretary Jeff Meyer (Elgin) won reelection on Tuesday to their respective 3rd and 2nd terms on the Board.

ECC trustees serve 6-year terms.

The two incumbents have ties to the Republican Party, with Jeff Meyer currently serving as the executive vice chairman of the Kane County Republican Party, and prior, chaired the Elgin Township Republican Central Committee.

Dr. Redmer regularly pulls Republican ballots in primary elections.

Meyer is an attorney, and Redmer is a retired educator.

The local Dundee Township Democrats, chaired by D300 School Board Member Nancy Zettler, openly supported the two challengers.

ECC Trustees (2)McHenryKaneCookTotal
xJeffrey Meyer (i)                 549              7,231                 1,254                 9,034
xDonna Redmer (i)                 563              6,637                 1,189                 8,389
Joyce Fountain                 464              6,136                 1,367                 7,967
Adriana Barriga-Green                 172              4,716                 1,143                 6,031

Unofficial returns from the three county clerks within the ECC District #509, have both Meyer and Redmer winning handily.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *