Kane County Election Results

Chris Lauzen was elected Kane County Board Chairman in an at-large election. His wife Sarah looks on as he announces for the office.

A view of the Kane County elections from a Friend of McHenry County Blog:

“Here are a couple of items you may have heard about, including the result of creating a vacancy on the Elgin Community College (ECC) Board of Trustees.

“ECC Trustee John Dalton (D, Elgin) won election as a Circuit Judge in the 2nd subcircuit of the 16th Circuit by defeating appointed Judge John Walters (R, Elgin).

“His election will create a vacancy on the ECC Board of Trustees, as he will need to resign his trustee’s post sometime this month.

“Judge-elect Dalton was elected to the ECC board in last year’s local elections.

“The vacancy will need to be filled, and should create an unexpired term (4-year seat?) to fill in the April 9th, 2013 election for ECC Board.

“The ECC district includes all of Algonquin and parts of Lake in the Hills, [covering the same territory as District 300].

“The second ECC Trustee on the ballot yesterday, Bob Getz (D, Elgin) lost his bid for the 22nd district of the Kane County Board by a mere 18 votes to Republican Doug Scheflow in the open seat election.

“I’d anticipate a recount in that race.

“Because of Scheflow’s narrow victory (as it stands now), the composition of the Kane County Board will be 14 Republicans to 10 Democrats.

“Kane County Board Member Maggie Auger (R, Algonquin) won re-election in the 23rd district with nearly 55% of the vote over Kevin Smith (D, Lake Marian).

“In the other Kane County board election which touches a McHenry County community, Board Member T.R. Smith (R, Burlington) was re-elected to a 2nd term in the 9th district, which includes all of the Kane County portion of Huntley.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.